Board of Directors

About Us
Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer

Salim Limanto

Mr Salim Limanto was appointed to our Board on 12 December 2018. Mr Limanto is responsible for the overall operations and business development activities of our Group. Mr Limanto has over 11 years of management and business development experience in the coal mining, transportation and trading industries, and has been involved in our Group’s business since the inception of PT Deli Niaga Sejahtera (“PT DNS”) and PT Deli Pratama Angkutan Laut (“PT DPAL”) in 2013 and 2010, respectively.

Mr Limanto started his career in PT Sinar Deli, which was previously one of the domestic coal trading entities of the Deli Coal Group, where he was Head of Sales and Shipping from 2006 to 2018. He is the Director of our subsidiaries, PT DNS and PT DPAL.

Mr Limanto obtained a Bachelor of Economics, majoring in Accountancy, from Universitas Tarumanagara, Jakarta, Indonesia in 2006. He is the eldest son of Mr Djunaidi Hardi and a nephew of Mr Juhadi, Mr Arifin Ang and Mr Limas Ananto, all of whom are the founding shareholders of our Company.

Independent Non-Executive Chairman

Alice Yan

Ms. Alice Yan was appointed to our Board on 27 December 2019. She was appointed Independent Non-Executive Chairman on 1 April 2021. She has over 20 years of experience in the financial services industry.

While studying at Santa Monica College in California, USA, Ms Yan worked as a consultant for the school, establishing the International Student Recruitment Program to recruit students in Asia in 1986. After graduation, she interned at Carmichael International Customs House Broker in Los Angeles from 1988 to 1989 as the assistant to the general manager. She started her financial career with Citibank Jakarta from 1990 to 2004, rising to the title of Vice President while serving various roles: fund transfer, cash management, and relationship management for multinational companies and SMEs. Ms Yan next served as Director in Citigroup Private Bank (Singapore) from 2004 to 2005, before moving to Merrill Lynch International Bank Limited (Merchant Bank) (Singapore) as a Director in the Private Bank from 2005 to 2011. Subsequently, she joined Standard Chartered Bank (Singapore) from 2011 to 2013 as a Director in Private Bank, and then Julius Baer (Singapore) as a Director from 2013 to 2014. From 2014 to 2016, Ms Yan was appointed Executive VicePresident and Consumer Banking Group Head at PT Bank ICBC Indonesia. Since 2019, she co-founded Kode 101, a computer science education startup in Indonesia, serving as Chief Executive Officer. Ms Yan is also a member of the Singapore Institute of Directors.

Ms. Yan graduated in 1988 from the California State University of Los Angeles, USA, with a Bachelor of Science degree majoring in Business Administration.

Independent Non-Executive Director

Hew Koon Chan

Mr Hew Koon Chan was appointed to our Board on 27 December 2019.

Mr Hew began working as a process engineer in 1986 for Texas Instruments Singapore Pte. Ltd., a company specialising in the manufacturing and sale of memory integrated circuits. In 1988, he was employed as an investment analyst and rose through the ranks to become Investment Director at Seavi Venture Services Pte. Ltd., a venture capital firm established in the South East Asian region, which is affiliated with Advent International (a global private equity firm headquartered in Boston). Thereafter, he established Integer Capital Pte. Ltd. in 2004 and carried out the role as the Managing Director, providing business consultancy services on corporate mergers and acquisitions.

Mr Hew presently sits on the board of directors of two (2) public listed companies, namely shopper360 Limited and Oiltek International Limited. He was previously appointed as director of several public listed companies such as Brilliant Manufacturing Limited (now known as Nidec Component Technology Co., Ltd.), Speedy-Tech Electronics Limited, Action Asia Limited, Roxy-Pacific Holdings Limited, Nordic Group Limited, DeClout Limited (now known as DeClout Pte. Ltd.), Far East Group Limited and ecoWise Holdings Limited.

Mr Hew graduated from the National University of Singapore with a Bachelor of Engineering (Mechanical) in 1986. In 1987, he graduated from the Singapore Institute of Management with a Graduate Diploma in Financial Management and obtained his Certified Diploma in Accounting and Finance from the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants (UK) in 1988.

Independent Non-Executive Director

Cheong Hock Wee

Mr Cheong Hock Wee was appointed to our Board on 1 September 2021.

Mr Cheong has more than 35 years of experience in the shipbuilding and marine industry. He started his career in 1985 with Far-East Levingston Shipbuilding (now known as Keppel Shipyard) as an engineer, before moving on to Republic of Singapore Navy as Naval Engineering Officer. He later joined a few other shipyard companies in Singapore and held senior positions in Pan-United Corporation Group of Companies, ST Engineering Ltd, ASL Marine Holdings Limited, Jaya Shipbuilding and Engineering Ltd, Singapore Star Shipping Pte. Ltd. and DDW-Pax Ocean Asia Pte. Ltd..

Mr Cheong previously served as a non-independent non-executive director on the board of Beng Kuang Marine Ltd from 2012 to 2014, a company listed on the Main Board of the SGX-ST.

Mr Cheong obtained his Bachelor’s Degree in Naval Architecture from University of Hamburg, Germany in 1982 and a Master of Science Degree in Industrial Engineering from National University of Singapore in 1991. He attended the Program for Management Development at Harvard Business School in Boston in 1993.

Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer

Francis Lee

Mr Francis Lee was appointed to our Board on 15 July 2019. Mr Lee is responsible for the overall management, strategic planning and development, and the expansion and growth of our Group. Mr Lee has over 25 years of experience and expertise in managing companies in the trading, shipping, investment holding and agriculture sectors.

Mr Lee started his career as an auditor in Coopers & Lybrand Singapore, now known as PricewaterhouseCoopers, from 1991 to 1995. From 1995 to 1997, he was the General Manager of Coopers & Lybrand Hla Tun Consultants in Yangon, Myanmar. From 1997 to 1998, Mr Lee joined Kuok (Singapore) Ltd. as the Assistant General Manager in Myanmar. Subsequently from 1998 to 2000, he was transferred to Pacific Carrier Ltd., a subsidiary of Kuok (Singapore) Ltd., where he acted as Group Financial Controller. From 2001 to 2003, he was appointed as Group Financial Controller of Kuok (Singapore) Ltd.. From 2004 to 2015, Mr Lee was appointed the General Manager of the fertiliser department at NewQuest (Trading) Pte. Ltd. (now known as Agrifert Holdings Pte. Ltd.), a subsidiary of Kuok (Singapore) Ltd. As part of his various appointments in the Kuok group of companies, Mr Lee also held various positions, such as Chairman of NewQuest Vietnam Company Ltd. (now known as Agrifert Vietnam Ltd.), a Vietnamese subsidiary of Agrifert Holdings Pte. Ltd. from 2011 to 2019, as General Manager of KSM Strategic Pte. Ltd., a subsidiary in the Kuok group of companies from 2014 to 2015, and as Managing Director in Agri Malar Company Limited (Myanmar) from 2007 to 2019. From 2016 to 2019, he served as the General Manager and Director of Agrifert Trading Pte. Ltd..

Mr Lee previously served as an alternative non-executive director on the board of Beng Kuang Marine Ltd., a company listed on the Main Board of the SGX-ST from 2013 to 2016.

Mr Lee graduated from Monash University, Melbourne, Australia with a Bachelor of Economics (Honours), majoring in accounting and computer science in 1992. He is a member of the CPA Australia.